University of Maribor

The University of Maribor is the second biggest and the second oldest university in Slovenia. Around 14.000 students’ study at the University of Maribor. It has seventeen faculties which offer undergraduate and postgraduate study programmes. The University of Maribor is a regional developer and our faculties are located not only in the city of Maribor, but also in other parts of Slovenia.

The mission of the University of Maribor is based on honesty, curiosity, creativity, freedom of spirit, cooperation and knowledge transfer in the field of science, art and education. Concerned with mankind and sustainable development, the University of Maribor expands knowledge, raises awareness, and promotes humanistic values as well as the culture of dialogue, quality of life and global justice.

The beginnings of higher education in Maribor date back to the 19th century when in 1859 bishop Anton Martin Slomšek moved the seat of the Lavantine diocese from St. Andraž in Lavantal to Maribor and soon afterwards established a Slovenian seminary. That gave Maribor its first institution of higher education which became an important focal point of Slovenian religious, national, cultural and scientific thought in the Slovenia Štajerska region.

The immediate forerunner of the present-day University of Maribor is the Association of Higher Education Institutions in Maribor, which was established in 1961 and joined the first colleges, established in the period between 1959 and 1961. The oldest among them was the School of Economics and Commerce.

The Higher Education Institution became an important academic centre gradually and in 1975 the University of Maribor was created. Over time these developed into many different faculties:

Faculty of Economics and Business
Faculty of Civil Engineering
Faculty of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Faculty or Arts
Faculty of Natural Science Mathematics
Faculty of Health Science
Faculty of Logistic
Faculty of Energy Technology
Faculty of Tourism
Faculty Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Agriculture and Life Science
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security
Faculty of Organizational Science

Not all of the faculties are located in Maribor. The Faculty of Agriculture and Life Science in located in Hoče, the Faculty of Organizational Science in located in Kranj, the Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security is located in Ljubljana, the Faculty of Logistic in Celje and Krško, the Faculty of Energy Technology in Krško and Velenje and the Faculty of Tourism in Brežice. The rest of the faculties are spread all over the city of Maribor.

For more information about the University of Maribor, please click here.